Uw browser (Internet Explorer 11) is verouderd en wordt niet meer ondersteund. Hierdoor werkt deze website mogelijk niet juist. Installeer Google Chrome of update uw browser voor meer internetveiligheid en een beter weergave.

Search
Event

Say it out loud! Sexual wellbeing matters

Back to archive
2 March 2022, 15:00 hour Tags: research, sexual wellbeing, SheDecides, Young People

Please join us on SheDecides Day to celebrate the launch of exciting research on young people´s perspectives of sexual wellbeing and consent and to hear more about how we can ensure the SRHR  of young people. This research was led by Plan International, Karolinska Institutet, Rutgers and other research partners. Don´t forget to join the conversation on the day #SheDecidesHerFuture.

Why is this important?

Many sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR) approaches for young people take a sexual risk perspective, emphasising the negative consequences of sexual activity, such as sexually transmitted infections, including HIV, unintended pregnancy, and sexual violence. Less emphasis has been put on the positive or healthy aspects of the development of young people´s sexuality and sexual experiences. Taboos surrounding young people´s sexuality reinforce stigma around sexual pleasure, give people an unrealistic view of what sexual wellbeing is or could be, and may disconnect how people feel and think about sex in reality.

Young people´s sexual wellbeing, including their positive sexual experiences and their evolving capacity to consent to sex, needs to be better understood in order to improve SRHR programmes.

Register now

Date and time: 2 March, 8-9am Mexico/ 2-3 pm UK/ 7.30-8.30 pm India
Platform: Zoom with live translations.

Register here
Events

Other events

Also visit our other sexual health and rights events.

All events